DWI DUI Traffic Violations Hamptons and Suffolk County Criminal Defense Attorney | New York Zero Tolerance Laws
Experience and Results
This links to the home page
New York Zero Tolerance Laws

New York’s Zero Tolerance laws make it a crime for minors under the age of 21 to drink alcohol and drive.  Just one drink may result in a driving under the influence charge, even if the minor’s ability to drive was not impaired. If you or someone you know was recently charged with violating New York’s Zero Tolerance laws, it is important that you hire an experienced DWI attorney as soon as possible.
 
In New York, you may be charged with violating the zero tolerance law if you operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02% to .07%. If your BAC is between .05% and .08%, you may also be charged with driving while ability impaired (DWAI); however, if your BAC is over .08%, you may be charged with DWI.

The penalties for a zero tolerance law conviction may include a six-month driver’s license suspension, a $125 fine that must be paid to the DMV, and a $100 license reinstatement fee. The penalties for DWAI and DWI may include jail time, substantial fines, and the loss of driving privileges for at least one year.  In addition to these court-imposed penalties, you may also be penalized by your insurance company. In some cases, your insurance provider may decide to drop your coverage altogether.

At Astarita & Associates we are experienced DWI attorneys who are particularly familiar with New York's Zero Tolerance laws.  Our experience as defense attorneys, combined with our backgrouds as former prosecutors with the Suffolk County District Attorney's Office, allows us to specifically understand the prosecution process and anticipate the prosecutor's strategies. 
 As your DWI defense attorney we will vigorously investigate your case and tirelessly work to ensure that your case results in the best possible outcome.